Happy New….Day

5….4….3….2….1…. Who Cares!!??!!

Okay, so maybe I didn’t say that the other night as the calendar turned from 2011 to 2012. But of all of the holidays that we celebrate, New Year’s Eve/Day is my least favorite. I have never been the kind of person that liked getting all dressed up and going out on the town to commemorate the end of the year. My best New Year’s Eve memories growing up were being together with family and friends, playing games or just hanging out.

Even after meeting Susie, a hot young couple like ourselves still didn’t paint the town red.  Our biggest New Year’s Eve was waiting up for the thoroughly underwhelming Y2K after going to a relatively fancy party as a part of Purdue’s trip to the Outback Bowl. I guess there was last year when, after being together for over 13 years, I finally made Susie’s dreams come true by taking her to Meyer’s Castle in Dyer.

No alcohol actually consumed by infants during this celebration!

Ironically, now that we have children, I think we have been making a point to do more on New Year’s Eve and not less. For the past couple of years we have either gone over to a friend’s house and had our kids play together or we have been visiting the Indiana State Museum for face painting, games and a massive balloon drop. The best part is that the kids have a fun time, yet it is over soon enough that to get home and dad can start using some yet to be opened Christmas presents. (I am not too proud to say I spend a few hours of the new year playing the latest edition of Legend of Zelda on my very neglected Wii.)

Overall, I see New Year’s Day as just another day. Not bigger or smaller than any other. I am an optimist and while it is very cheesy, it is true: I am excited about every day and the opportunities that might unfold in front of me. (See, I warned you it would be cheesy!) There are so many things that happen in a given day that you will miss them if you are not looking. For example, it struck me today while chasing Amelia around the house how much she has grown into her own personality and mannerisms. She is not just a baby anymore. I don’t think I would have really noticed that if I wasn’t paying attention.

There is a reason why most New Year’s resolutions fail. To me, it seems the failure is  because there is so much pressure wrapped up into the “new year” being the time to make a change. Invariably, the start date for the “new you” kept getting pushed back past Thanksgiving and Christmas, which only adds to the pressure. So that even one day into the new year, if it doesn’t go right or if you have a set back then this “new year” screwed up this “new year” such that giving up is the only option. At least until next December 31st.

But it doesn’t have to be that way. If you want to make a resolution, why not make one that each day is going to be a new day? Yesterday is gone and the future is yet to be determined. But you do have today. What are you going to do with it? The best part of this resolution is that if you mess up, you can always try again tomorrow!

If you had a great day yesterday, then try to make the next one a better one or at least recreate its greatness. If things didn’t go as planned, you cannot change anything about yesterday, but you can make today a whole lot better. When you break the journey up into smaller pieces, it doesn’t seem nearly as difficult. Plus, the bumps in the road become much less frustrating.

I know that I sound like some kind of half-baked self-help guru or something, but I truly think this is the way to go about living life. Remember all of the highs and lows of 2011 and look forward to the promise of a better 2012. Celebrate New Year’s Eve as the highlight of the year, if you so desire. But don’t put all of your focus on just one day. Because there are 364 other days that you should pay attention to as well. Especially if the Mayans really do turn out to have this Apocalypse thing figured out.

About ironsalsa

I'm just a man who likes to hear himself talk, yet pretends he can't stand himself.
This entry was posted in Current Events, Family, My Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

