Friends Forever

No, today’s post is not going to be about “Zack Attack” or anything ‘Saved By The Bell” related, although that is an interesting idea for the future. But I have been thinking a great deal about friends and the meaning of friendship over the past few days.

Today is the birthday of my best friend from my high school and college days. We don’t talk very often and I haven’t seen him for over 2 years. In a way, that is sad. I think about all of the times we have shared in the past. Playing kick the volleyball over the light post in the neighborhood. All of the nights I would go over to his house a few doors down and knock as I was walking in the door. Hanging out for hours on end at Purdue. People trying to pair him up as the long lost twin brother I never had (or Matt or Brian never had). Playing golf. Flying in a small plane from West Lafayette to Joliet with his dad. Turbo Moses. Wombat Vengeance. But alas, time and space have made it so that we don’t have those times any more.

The amazing thing is, that if we were to be together for even just a few hours, it would be as though nothing had changed. How do I know this? Because it has happened before. There was the time we met up by random chance in Tampa watching Purdue at the Outback Bowl. We randomly ran into each other in the hotel lobby and it took about 30 seconds to fall into our old routine (much to the dismay of my wife and his girlfriend at the time, who witnessed us running towards each other and tackling each other like one of us had just pitched a perfect game.)

Fast forward 4 years. We hadn’t seen each other or talked much since then. I was a first year resident with a random week of vacation and my lovely wife decides to surprise me with a solo trip to Disney World to stay with my best friend (who worked at Disney World). Once again, we have a blast together and it was just like old times. Same thing when the entire McKenna family makes a trip to Disney World. Like the calendar still read 1995. (Except the part where we had girls hanging out with us. That was a new development. Even if they were park employees playing the part of a Disney character.)

You might be saying to yourself, when don’t we just pick up the phone and talk with each other? That is a great question, that I can’t totally answer. I will say that neither of us are actually phone people (seems like a common theme in my life). Maybe it is a guy thing to be able to pick up right where we left off whether it has been 1 day or 1000 days. Maybe it just verifies how good of friends we were and always will be. Maybe people were right when they thought my best friend was in actuality one of my brothers. No matter the explanation, I know that we will be friends forever. And besides, it seems like it is about time for us to randomly bump into each other again to reestablish our friendship.

About ironsalsa

I'm just a man who likes to hear himself talk, yet pretends he can't stand himself.
This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

