Time Machine

I have seen the future and the future is…. tiring.

In honor of Hannah’s 6th birthday, Susie and I hosted eight other 6 year olds. It was a Barbie Fashion Fairy Tale party, complete with make-up, crafts, a runway show and a movie. When the plan for this party was hatched a few months ago, it didn’t seem like it would be any different than any other birthday party we have had for Hannah. Send out some invitations, clean the house, host some girls, entertain them, feed them and then send them back on their way having had a fun and entertaining time. Which is pretty much what happened. Pretty much.

In between all of that there was a lot of screaming, shrieking, running around and Justin Bieber talk. And in the end, that was what was the most surprising. I couldn’t believe how much activity there was. And from the first moment, I should have known. Susie had a bunch of balloons blown up and lying around the living room. They were a great idea and made the fashion runway area much more festive. Little did we know that the girls would immediately snatch them up, run around the room chasing each other with them, throw them at each other, thrown them in the air and every which way in between. From the first minute, it was like we were running a race, only the girls had been training for this their whole lives and I hadn’t been training at all.

I distinctly remember walking up the stairs at one point towards the end, my legs feeling like they were made of cement, thinking that I was unbelievably tired. then I remembered that I was on my feet running around the house for the entire party. I thought there would be some down time. The girls would be calmly and quietly doing crafts while awaiting their turn at the make-up station. I was not expecting such a giant, electric ball of energy. It was definitely a well-mannered and considerate ball of energy that was pleasant to be around. But I think if we need to solve our world’s energy problems, all we need to do is somehow harness the limitless energy of 6 year old girls.

When the party ended and all of the girls had gone home and the birthday girl had collapsed exhausted in to her bed, that was when it hit me. This is what my life is going to be like for the next 20 years. Partly because before we know it, Amelia is going to be trailing right behind Hannah and partly because as both of the girls get older, I think the level of energy, shrieking and squealing is only going to grow. I can only hope that the degree of Justin Bieber talk does not.

About ironsalsa

I'm just a man who likes to hear himself talk, yet pretends he can't stand himself.
This entry was posted in Family, My Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

