Hugs

Just over a month ago, this blog was born. I knew it was something I wanted to do, but I wasn’t sure what kind of response I would get from it. Initially, the audience for the blog was only something to be feared.  I wanted to express myself, yet also make sure that I didn’t totally embarrass myself, say something stupid or totally offend a segment of the population. (Thankfully, none of that has happened…. yet.) But my mindset changed very quickly.

After starting this up, I had a whole new appreciation and mentality towards you, the reader. I figured that this was just going to be a place to off-load some random thoughts, but it became something more. I have started to think of this like a column in a magazine or newspaper. What does the reader want? How can I make this thought actually interesting and not just random? I am not a writer by training or even by pretend. In school about the only thing I ever feared was the dreaded “creative writing” assignments as I may be one of the more uncreative people around. But this blog has become a whole lot more serious to me than I ever thought it would be. (Not serious in tone, because who are we kidding…I can’t not make jokes, especially at my own expense.)(Whether the jokes actually are funny, well that is another story.)(If they aren’t funny, please just let me think they are. Lie to me. I don’t mind. I won’t report you to the Truth Police or anything.) I check the Dashboard every day, where it tells me how many people have viewed the blog that day, where you have come from (i.e. Facebook, Twitter, blog reader) and what links you click on. I have become obsessed with the stats. (Who’d a thunk it… a nerd getting excited about stats and numbers. Shocker.)

All of this is to say that never in a million years did I expect that this blog would have already hit 1000 views! We have come a long way in a short time span, especially for something I didn’t think anyone would read or respond to. But more important than the numbers (and by the way, the stats do not take in to account my views of the blog. So I can’t be inflating my numbers.) is the interactions that I have been having with people because of the posts. I figured that maybe my wife, my mom and brothers (I think my dad might enjoy it too, but he isn’t on Facebook and I don’t think reading a blog is his “thing”) and some very good friends would occasionally check it out. But I have been overwhelmed by all of the various people that are on board, from current residents, to past residents, to neighbors and high school friends and friends of friends. You have been reposting links and sharing with other people you know. People leave comments on Facebook and people comment to me when I see them in person. I am truly humbled by all of this and very appreciative.

We have gotten off to a great start, so I hope this is not like a good first date, but you don’t call me back because you just aren’t that into me. (Or as I prefer, “I love you, but I’m not in love with you.” I didn’t get that a lot, but I had a friend that essentially had that as his nickname.) Although as mentioned in a previous post, I am used to crushing heart break. So if that is the case I’ll be okay, although I may sit in my room, sulking, listening to Tori Amos for awhile. (I’d talk about this more, but nothing screams “desperate sap” like talking all about your previous relationship train wrecks on a first date.)(I’d like to think we are in second date territory, although it is not that good to do it at that point either.)

Cautiously optimistic, I am going to keep putting out interesting, quirky, thoughtful, insightful (not to brag or anything) posts so as to continue to engage you, the faithful reader. Thank you so much for being here and stopping by. As a reward, I am going to give you all a hug.

A great big, slightly too exuberant, clinging, lingering a bit too long so that it is becoming uncomfortable hug. The kind you would get from a desperate sap on a first date.

About ironsalsa

I'm just a man who likes to hear himself talk, yet pretends he can't stand himself.
This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hugs

  1. Susie says:

    That’s my favorite picture of you and your brother! Door County, good times…

  2. Madcap says:

    I am similarly obsessed with constantly checking the stats on my blog as well. I do that at least twice as often as I check my email or Facebook. Also, I, for one, love commas, and have enjoyed getting to know you better again through reading your blog posts. The stalker-like, you-don’t-know-I’m-watching-from-afar feel of it suits me just right.

Leave a Reply

